National Translation Award in Prose

The National Translation Award in Prose is awarded annually to a literary translator who has made an outstanding contribution to literature in English by masterfully recreating the artistic force of a book of consummate quality.

The National Translation Award (NTA) will be awarded in two categories—Prose and Poetry—beginning in 2015. In its 17th year, the $5,000 NTA is the longest-standing prize for a work of literary translation, and the only national award for translated fiction, poetry, and literary nonfiction that includes a rigorous examination of the source text and its relation to the finished English work.

Publishers are invited to submit translated works of prose published in 2014. Hybrid works and drama are welcome, and may be submitted to either category as determined appropriate by the publisher.

Nominations must be made through our nomination portal, and open January 1, 2015 and close May 1, 2015. The winning and finalist books and translators for 2015 will be featured at the 38th annual conference of the American Literary Translators Association in Tucson, AZ.

The NTA supports ALTA’s goal of enhancing the status of literary translation, improving the quality of literary translating, and broadening the market for works in English translation. Recent winners include Richard Wilbur (2008), Norman Shapiro (2009), Alex Zucker (2010), Lisa Rose Bradford (2011), Sinan Antoon (2012), Phillip Boehm (2013), Eugene Ostashevsky and Matvei Yankelevich (2014). The award-winning book and translator for 2015 will be featured at the 38th annual conference of the American Literary Translators Association in Tucson, AZ.

To be eligible for the 2015 National Translation Award in Prose, the translation must be:

  • by an American citizen or U.S. resident
  • from any language into English
  • of a book-length work of fiction or creative non-fiction (literary criticism, philosophy, and biographies are not eligible),
  • published anywhere in the world in 2014.

The deadline for nominating books published in 2014 is May 1, 2015.

For books chosen by the judges as finalists, publishers will be asked to provide the original-language text; any finalist for which no original-language text is provided will be excluded from further consideration.

Upon completion of the submission, publishers will receive instructions for mailing print copies of submitted titles to those judges who are unable to review electronic submissions. Postmark deadline for mailing printed submissions is May 8, 2015.

The 2015 NTA in Prose will be judged by the following jury:

Pamela Carmell received an NEA Translation Fellowship to translate Oppiano Licario by José Lezama Lima. In 2000, she participated in Writers of the Americas, a writers’ exchange in Havana. She co-translated the short story collection, Cuba on the Edge. Her translations include With Eyes and Soul: poems by Nancy Morejón, The Last Portrait of the Duchess of Alba by Antonio Larreta; The Last Cato by Matilde Ascensi, Woman on the Front Line, poetry by Belkis Cuza Malé, recipient of the Witter Bynner Poetry Award, the best-selling trilogy, Apocalypse Z, by Manel Loureiro and Homing Instincts, poems by Nancy Morejón. Other translations include work by Manuel Puig, Luisa Valenzuela, Ena Lucia Portela, Gloria Fuertes, and Pedro Juan Gutiérrez, among others.

Jason Grunebaum is a fiction writer and translator. His books include The Girl with the Golden Parasol and The Walls of Delhi, both translated from the Hindi of Uday Prakash, and Manzoor Ahtesham’s The Tale of the Missing Man. His work has been shortlisted for the DSC Prize in South Asian Literature, longlisted for the National Translation Award, awarded an MLA Scaglione Translation Prize honorable mention, and he has received an NEA Literature Fellowship and a PEN/Heim Translation Fund Grant. He is senior lecturer in Hindi at the University of Chicago and a member of the Committee on Creative Writing.

Anne Magnan-Park is a Provençale-Hoosier: a native of Provence educated in France and residing happily in Indiana. She specializes in Translation Studies, Pacific and Indigenous Literatures in English, and Francophone Literature. Her current interest focuses on the concept of hospitality to explore translinguitic and transcultural issues in Māori literature and French immigrant literature. Au Vent des Îles published her French translations of Māori author Patricia Grace: Des Petits Trous dans le Silence (2014) and Électrique Cité (2006, co-translated with Jean Anderson). She is Assistant Professor in the Department of English at Indiana University South Bend. She has taught in France, New Zealand, and the USA, and lives part of the year in Hong Kong.


4 Responses to National Translation Award in Prose

  1. Pingback: National Translation Award & Stryk Asian Translation Prize Accepting Nominations | ALTA Talk

  2. Nagham says:

    Corpus washer author and translator Sinan Anton

  3. Pingback: ‘Made by Many’ Crowdfunding, ‘Arabian Stories’ Contest, Other Calls for Submissions | Arabic Literature (in English)

  4. Pingback: ‘Made by Many’ Crowdfunding, ‘Arabian Tales’ Contest, Different Requires Submissions | TiaMart Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s