Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize

The Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize, a $5,000 prize which was inaugurated in 2009, recognizes the importance of Asian translation for international literature and promotes the translation of Asian works into English. Stryk was an internationally acclaimed translator of Japanese and Chinese Zen poetry, renowned Zen poet himself, and former professor of English at Northern Illinois University.

Nominations must be made through our nomination portal, and open January 1, 2015 and close May 1, 2015. The winning and finalist books and translators for 2015 will be featured at the 38th annual conference of the American Literary Translators Association in Tucson, AZ .

To be eligible for the 2015 Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize, works must be: 

  • book-length translations into English of Asian poetry or source texts from (but solely not commentaries on) Zen Buddhism
  • book-length translations from Hindi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean into English.
  • published in 2014

Submissions will be judged according to the literary significance of the original and the success of the translation in recreating the literary artistry of the original. While the Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize is primarily intended to recognize the translation of contemporary works, re-translations or first-time translations of important older works will also be seriously considered.

The deadline for nominating books published in 2014 is May 1, 2015.

For books chosen by the judges as finalists, publishers will be asked to provide the original-language text; any finalist for which no original-language text is provided will be excluded from further consideration.

The judges for the 2015 Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize are:

Lucas Klein—a former radio DJ and union organizer—is a writer, translator, and editor. His translations, poems, essays, and articles have appeared at Two Lines, Drunken Boat, Jacket, CLEAR, and PMLA, and he has regularly reviewed books for Rain Taxi and other venues. A graduate of Middlebury College (BA) and Yale University (PhD), he is Assistant Professor in the School of Chinese at the University of Hong Kong. With Haun Saussy and Jonathan Stalling he edited The Chinese Written Character as a Medium for Poetry: A Critical Edition, by Ernest Fenollosa and Ezra Pound (Fordham University Press, 2008), and with Clayton Eshleman co-translated a collection of Bei Dao 北島 poems, Endure (Black Widow Press, 2011). His translation Notes on the Mosquito: Selected Poems of Xi Chuan 西川 (New Directions, 2012) won the 2013 Lucien Stryk Prize and was shortlisted for the Best Translated Book Award (for more, see October Dedications, his translations of seminal contemporary poet Mang Ke 芒克, is out from Zephyr and Chinese University Press in 2015, and he is at work translating Tang dynasty poet Li Shangyin 李商隱.

Janet Poole teaches Korean literature and cultural theory at the University of Toronto. Her exploration of Korean modernist writers’ response to Japanese fascist occupation during the Pacific War recently appeared as When the Future Disappears: The Modernist Imagination of Late Colonial Korea (Columbia University Press, 2014). She has translated the works of many writers from colonial Korea, including a collection of anecdotal essays published during the Pacific War by Yi T’aejun, Eastern Sentiments (Columbia University Press, paperback edition, 2013), and a bilingual edition of Ch’oe Myŏngik’s melancholic elegy to interwar Pyongyang, Walking in the Rain (ASIA Publishers, 2015).

Stephen Snyder is Dean of Language Schools and Kawashima Professor of Japanese Studies at Middlebury College in Vermont. He is the author of Fictions of Desire: Narrative Form in the Novels of Nagai Kafū and co-editor of Ōe and Beyond: Fiction in Contemporary Japan. He has translated works by Yōko Ogawa, Kenzaburō Ōe, Ryū Murakami, and Miri Yū, among others. His translation of Kunio Tsuji’s The Signore won the 1990 Japan-U.S. Friendship Commission translation prize. His translation of Ogawa’s Hotel Iris was shortlisted for the Man Asian Literary Prize in 2011 and his translation of Ogawa’sRevenge was shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction prize in 2014. He is currently working on a study of publishing practices in Japan and the United States and their effects on the globalization of Japanese literature.


2 Responses to Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize

  1. Pingback: National Translation Award & Stryk Asian Translation Prize Accepting Nominations | ALTA Talk

  2. What about Dravidian lg works of literature, like Kannada etc?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s